Nancy Heise/Public Domain / Alabama’s new marriage law goes into effect Thursday, Aug. 29.
Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue.
Oh, and something notarized.
Alabama’s new marriage law goes into effect Thursday, Aug. 29. The change, approved by the State Legislature in its most recent session,eliminates the existing process of obtaining a marriage license and replaces it with requirements for a state-provided form that must be completed and notarized before being delivered back to a Probate Judge’s office. The Probate Judge would then record – but not issue – the license.
No wedding ceremony will be required, though the notarized form attesting applicants meet the legal requirements of marriage must be submitted to a Probate Judge’s office within 30 days of being signed. Fees will vary by county.
Alabama requires people wanting to get married to be of certain ages: 16 (with parental consent) or 18 (without parental consent). There are no waiting periods, blood tests or residency requirements.
Current marriage licenses are valid through Aug. 28, after that date couples must use the new forms.
The new law also ends the practice of requiring a marriage be “solemnized” by a minister or someone else licensed to perform a ceremony. Current law requires a minister, judge, retired judge or person otherwise authorized to perform a ceremony to sign the marriage license before it is recorded.
Under the new law, the affidavit and forms constitute a legal marriage, as long as they are submitted within 30 days of being signed by the two parties.